Call us on 01228 711888 Menu

The 2014 CN Group Golden Apple Awards

On Friday 3 October 2014 CN Group hosted the fifth Golden Apple Awards at Carlisle Racecourse.  The ceremony recognises and celebrates the achievements of individuals across the whole of the training and education sector.  David Allen were invited to the event by Esh Group, who were one of the main sponsors and nominated for an award in the Post 16 Training Provider of the Year category.

Esh Group supports many initiatives, particularly those related to helping students understand business and the world of work, helping them to secure the best possible opportunities.  David Allen have been delighted to support and help deliver the Esh ‘Employability’ and ‘Building my Skills’ programmes into many local schools over the past two years.  We are very proud of this collaboration, through which we have offered work experience placements at our Workington Office.

The evening was opened by David Helliwell, editor and deputy publisher of Cumbrian Newspapers Limited, and compered by Nell Dunn of BBC Radio Cumbria.  There were more than 220 finalists and guests at the event and it was fantastic to listen to so many wonderful success stories, particularly those of the nominees who overcame adversity to excel and inspire others.

The final Golden Apple of the evening, the Lifetime Achievement Award, went to Anne Attwood, the Principal and Chief Executive of Furness College, which is now a nationally recognised vocational institution and university centre.

Many congratulations to all of the 2014 nominees and award winners.  I would also like to thank Bill McCafferty of Esh Group for inviting me to share in such a worthwhile and enjoyable evening.

Jane Clingan

Learner of the Year – Natalie Atkinson, University of Cumbria
Support Staff of the Year – George Burch, Millom School
Early Years Award – Karen James, Kiddlywinks Nursery, Penrith
Community Involvement – Laura Sewell, Carlisle Youth Zone
Technology in Learning – Media Department, William Howard School, Brampton
Teaching Assistant of the Year – Kay Tyson, The Whitehaven Academy
Innovation in the Arts Award – Janice Murray and Helen Morgan, Howgill Family Centre, Whitehaven
Fit for Life – PE Department, William Howard School, Brampton
Outstanding New Teacher of the Year – Michael McClelland, Richard Rose Morton Academy, Carlisle
Teacher/Lecturer of the Year – Steve McAloone, Furness College, Barrow-in-Furness
Headteacher/Principal of the Year – Simon Jackson, Keswick School
Award for Youth – Jan Davinson, Cumbria Federation of Young Farmers’ Clubs
Against All Odds – Christopher Wilson, Furness College, Barrow-in-Furness
Apprentice of the Year – Stephanie Kelly, Gen2/Sellafield Limited
Post 16/Training Provider of the Year – University of Cumbria, Carlisle
Primary School of the Year – Victoria Junior School, Workington
Secondary School of the Year – Keswick School, Keswick
Special Needs Award – Angela Hutchinson and Learning Support Department, Ulverston Victoria High School
Lifetime Achievement Award – Anne Attwood, Principal and Chief Executive, Furness College, Barrow-in-Furness

Posted: October 8th, 2014

View previous years entries